The Galeria EL Art Center is located in the former church of the Dominican Order. The Dominicans arrived in Elbląg from Cracow in 1238, when the state master of the Teutonic Order, Herman Balk gave location privileges to the order – granting land for construction of the church. The church was rebuilt several times. It was seriously damaged in 1945. In 1970s, thanks to an initiative of group of enthusiasts, the church was rebuilt and then adopted to host a center for modern art. In 2011, thanks to European Union funding the interior of the Gallery was extended with a modern two-level glass matroneum, that is used to host exhibitions. What is unique is the connection of modern artifacts and glass matroneum with the antique interior of the gothic temple. The walls of the church are covered with epitaphs that are several centuries old, and the floors covered with old gravestones.
The current offer of the Gallery is very broad, from typical exhibitions, through shows, concerts, festivals to performances and workshops.